SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to look at a 1996 Saab 900 S 2-door Hatchback next week. I've never owned a Saab. The only foreign car I have owned is an Audi and I am sure they are 2 very different things.
Anyway, I am a poor student and will not be able to afford high-priced repairs if they are going to happen often. If any of you own the same type of Saab, please let me know if it's worth buying.
It has 90,000 miles and is listed almost $1,000 under blue book value.
I will have to make a 2 hour commute to see this car so it would be helpful to know if I should go on with it or perhaps look for something else.
Thanks!

·
Registered
5,905 Posts
Well this is the performance section, so I would suggest looking at a higher milage car. $1000 under kbb doesnt tell me much tho, what is the asking price?

At that milage the car is facing replacement of Alternator Ignition coil, and Fuel pump in the next 50k miles. Alternator will be the first, really soon in fact.

Another reason a higher milage car is better means that it was loved and cared for. Mine has 182k miles on it, and is it 100x better shape than any car with 90k miles.

·
Registered
2,490 Posts
If you get it you'll always wish you got the turbo version (unless you finally do get the turbo version) believe me however, 1000 for a car with only 90K on the odometer is a pretty good deal and since it is naturally aspirated less things can go wrong

you should also look into getting another Audi as well Audi A4s can be found dirt cheap with about 100K on them and a nice as well

·
Registered
818 Posts
key word "poor student..."

Buy Japanesse. There must be a thousand of 'em closer than two hours away. Buy a well-loved car with all the service records, no records, run away. The Saab at 2900 bucks is not a grand under KBB, it is fully priced. I would show interest at 2,000 if it had recent work and a full service history.