SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, i'm replacing my MC and while she's gonna have to be fully bled out, i figure why not do the calipers too?(they're shot already anyway)

so... what do i have to do as far as replacing the MC( the one it the car now appears nothing like the Girling i'm getting, but 12 different sources come up with only the girling)
i basically need a step by step since i'm new to the upper end of the braking system. also, things to look out for when detaching the calipers. (is just bleeding the line off enough?)

thanks in advance.. hope to get some help

-=tristan=-

·
Registered
1,662 Posts
Both the MC and brake calipers are straightforward. Simply unbolt and bolt. But you need to play body contortionist doing the MC.

Two bolt for the MC and one clamp on the hydraulic hose. As for the caliper, two bolts using an allen wrench (an appropriate sized torx bit works fine). one wire clip and one hydraulic hose connection. If you are using a set of new brake pads, use a c-clamp to push the piston back.

Don't know what else to tell you. It is really that straightforward.

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yaofeng said:
Both the MC and brake calipers are straightforward. Simply unbolt and bolt. But you need to play body contortionist doing the MC.

Two bolt for the MC and one clamp on the hydraulic hose. As for the caliper, two bolts using an allen wrench (an appropriate sized torx bit works fine). one wire clip and one hydraulic hose connection. If you are using a set of new brake pads, use a c-clamp to push the piston back.

ok so nothing to worry about with the MC as far as pressurization?

·
Registered
1,662 Posts
No. Not really. As the brake fluid comes from the reservoir. So it is atmospheric plus two feet maximum. Higher pressure occurs on the downstream side.