SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2004 9-3 Aero, 2008 9-3 Aero, 2009 2.0T XWD
835 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found some twin-spoke Saab rims (ALU50) at a yard but they've been painted with a spray can so I'm getting them refinished. They're the same ones that came with my 04 and I have 225/45 sized tires.

I'm thinking of throwing these on my V6 Aero which has a tire size of 235 and the ALU71 wheels . The twin-spoke wheel looks like it's about 1/2 inch narrower than the ones that came with my V6. Am I okay throwing 235's on the twin-spoke ALU 50's?

ALU 50 17x7

ALU 71 17x7 1/2

·
Registered
138 Posts
I'm not a wheel expert and you're probably better off waiting for someone who is to comment, but I'd go 225. Might look odd with 235.

Sent from my LM-V405 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
184 Posts
225 will fit better on a 7" wheel, but you could probably get away with 235 if you really wanted to. I'd go with 225.

·
Registered
2006 9-3 Aero SportCombi (V6, 6AT)
100 Posts
Nice find! I'm actually going through a similar situation. I'm doing a DIY restoration of some ALU71s (I'm glad I know what they are called now!). Coming from the standard 5-spoke Aeros (7.5" wide), I was wondering what to do about tires on the new 7" wide rims.

·
Super Moderator
9,615 Posts
235 will look mushy and bloated on a 7 inch wheel. I run 235s on a 8 inch wheel for perspective - pretty much flush, no wheel poke at all.

·
Registered
9,364 Posts
Have you mounted the rims on the back of your car and given them a spin? Those rims are known to get out of round.

If you look at tire specs, most 235/45-17 tires have a (recommended by the mfgr) minimum rim width of 7.5"

·
Super Moderator
9,615 Posts
Have you mounted the rims on the back of your car and given them a spin? Those rims are known to get out of round.

If you look at tire specs, most 235/45-17 tires have a (recommended by the mfgr) minimum rim width of 7.5"