SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Looking at a 1998 vert - UPDATE! Picked her up!

Looking at a 1998 900s vert with 115K miles on it. One owner with documentation. Everyting seems ok but the car is manual and on the original clutch, is this something to worry about??

How much headache(cost) will this be if I need a new clutch?
Thanks in advance.
I have no manual trans experience with saabs my 97 900s was auto.

·
Registered
10,324 Posts
The great thing about the 1998 convertible is that it has a hydraulic clutch. If it really is on its original clutch, it probably doesn't have a whole lot of life yet, but my dad has gotten 150,000 miles out of one (on a Honda). My local indie Saab shop quoted me $1200 to replace the clutch, which is a little ridiculous if you ask me, but the parts are over $300, and it requires a lot of labor.

·
Registered
1,996 Posts
My '98 has 135K on the original...

I'm waiting for Jeremy to figure out how to do his so that he can repalce mine next!! :cheesy: :cheesy:

Was that ScanWest that quoted $1200? Was that for any upgrading on parts as well?

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the responses. So about$1200 for a new one huh. I will see if I can get the price lowered to reflect that and maybe its a deal. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,617 Posts
I had a '96 900S that the engine died (lower bearing or whatever, too expensive too find out so no autopsy) at 183,000 miles but I had the original clutch. And only one brake change in that whole time.

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Whats a car like this worth? or better question is what is a good deal for a 98 900s vert with 115k?

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
anyone? I can get it for $5500. Does this sound like to much or a fair price?

·
Registered
1,996 Posts