SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17,804 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just did a long many replies instructional post. I went back through to set up links to the photos and I got a message "You can't edit more than 10 posts in 7 days". As a result, my instructional post will now be a PITA to use. So much for investing a couple hours helping newbs here.

What the heck? Try as I might to ascertain a legitimate reason for limiting people from editing their own posts via some arbitrary limit, I can't think of one (and I'm a business systems guy by trade... I'm good at this). What twisted logic is behind this?

If there has to be a nonsensical limit on this feature, can we get this limit raised to some level where we won't reasonably run into it?

·
Administrator
1,102 Posts
We are working on this. It should be sorted with an update rolling out tomorrow. If after the update tomorrow you still are not permitted to edit these posts please bump this thread.
-Philip

·
Registered
17,804 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
My mistake... must have just reached "end of life" on some post-edit dates. I'm getting the message again.

Any luck on rolling out the update? Isn't this just setting a parameter in a configuration file?

·
Administrator
1,102 Posts
Hey, as per the release notes:
The new edit limits feature includes unlimited editing of new posts - fix that typo or add more details as often as you like, within 24 hours of posting.
To summarize how editing works, members have unlimited editing of new posts for the first 24 hours after posting. Up to 10 existing posts (older than 24 hours) may be edited per week. More editing will be allowed as each of those 10 edits expires every 7 days.

I can develop this further to either help you know how many of the 10 edits you have left, otherwise I can look to expand it elsewise. Let me know how we can work to develop this further. :)

-Gerrit

·
Registered
17,804 Posts
Discussion Starter #7