SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,764 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi
i was thinking that i want to buy a K&N air filter.
does it really make a difference?
if so =)

anybody know where i can get instructions on how to install it.
To let everybody know. i am a TOTAL noob at this.

This beast is my first car.
If it's tricky, should i bring it into a mechanic?

thanks for reading
~Mike

·
Registered
5,641 Posts
Ummmmm, what exactly do you have in mind? Removing the airbox and replacing it with an open element filter? I can tell it makes no difference in performance, just lower the intake temps a bit and maybe helps the turbo spool just a little bit quicker. It makes a big difference in noise, you can really hear the turbo whistling and the bypass valve uuhhhhhh.......bypassing. :cheesy: Though I don't know how loud it'll be on a regular 2.3L.

·
Registered
5,641 Posts
oooooooooooooooooooo, a drop in filter, :lol: silly me. That's a piece of cake to change out. ;) We're talking about replacing the airbox with an open filter, something like this....

Don't think you'll notice a difference in performance, maybe a little fuel economy. Also don't know about the noise with a setup like that.

·
Registered
5,641 Posts
mfong said:
and what's this noise everyone is talking about?
lmao
~Mike
WHOOOOOOOOOOOOSH-PSSST :cheesy:

but I have an aero which has a bigger turbo and more boost.

·
Registered
1,764 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
ok
so how do i get that whoosh noise? that would be hot.

where do you live in the northeast? Man i need a neighbor who owns a saab. cause im such a wicked noob with this stuff.

first car, and it's a saab. lmao

~Mike

·
Registered
22,211 Posts
Mike, let me summarise ;)