SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Haha, I guess it had to happen... This afternoon I was putting everything together again after changing the clutch hydro line and I had to pull on the clutch cover quite hard to get it into postition. Guess where my other hand was? That's right, pushing on the front injector! And suddently I heard "crrk", and then the whole neighbourhood heard me swear... Nylon (?) hose brocken. Nice clean cut...

Well, what should I do to get the car back on the road? Do I have to source a Saab hose or can I use any appropriately sized hose (6mm hole, 2 mm thick walls, I think) to make a replacement, more flexible one?

BTW: Megasquirt ruuulz!!

Thanks for your help! Cheers, Seb

·
Registered
7,034 Posts
I have the braided lines, possibly off of an old VW. I've been transferring from car to car for a few years now. First thing I do with a new one.

·
Registered
3,693 Posts
nutcase said:
Access to any breakers that have late 70's/80's VW's? Get some braided injector lines from one of those.
Are they a direct fit with a suitable length and correct connectors to suit the fuel distributor and injectors? Should check out Ebay and see if anything shows up there.

Craig.

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
nutcase said:
Access to any breakers that have late 70's/80's VW's?

Well not really, these cars are more and more scarce around here, and they usually arrive at the yard already scavenged by enthusiasts (much like the saabs I scrap :) ), the K-jetted VW's, as the GTI models are now considered as collectors by a bunch of maniacs :cheesy::cheesy:

If I come across the braided lines sometime, I'll make sure to get them. For now, I'll go to my favorite hose shop and see if they have a matching tubing and I'll redo my lines.

An early K-Jet volvo engine I got (1974) had black non transluscent hose, I guess the color/material doesn't matter as long as it likes fuel?