SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 2004 Saab 9-3 Linear. It has 194,000 miles. I did not get it inspected before I bought it. I have come to find out it needs new wheel bearings in front (actually they told me it needed one, but the other is loose), new shocks in back (should be replaced), brake pads and rotors all around, and new tires. I also need a new key, I only have one and the buttons are missing. The Radio doesn't work and now the interior lights on the climate controls aren't lit. There are a couple of light issues that come up on the display, not sure if it's a bulb thing or an electrical thing. The outside looks great, the inside too. Oh, and it might have a small oil leak around the turbo.

I paid $2,500 and am looking at probably spending another $2500. I'm no mechanic and really not ready to learn. Am I crazy for keeping this car? Do I find a local mechanic to come out (on the side) and make the repairs? Take it to the dealer or an audio shop for the radio? I'd love to have Sirius radio but it just has the standard radio in it now (and again, not sure it works).

thanks

·
Registered
7,637 Posts
You are in a very tough spot and even that simple "key" will set you back what, $150 then if it doesn't work, a tow and get it programed?

We had "that" car down here but with 98k miles and needed just new tires for $3,000 just a few months ago at the local bargain (but decent), car lot.

At least from what you say it doesn't look like a dog. How is the engine and transmission?