SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 20 of 1581 Posts

·
Registered
6,332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys, I am finally posting an intercooler DIY with lots of pics.
First off I am not a professional, I do not profess to be one, and I AM NOT responsible for any damages done to your car, parts, tools, or yourself. I only advise this to people who are mechanically inclined EX: if you don't know how to change your oil or brake pads DO NOT try this. this is simple but it can be easy to mess up.

INTERCOOLER SIZE USED: 27x10x3 2.5in inlets

There will be enough photos on here i have more linked in my flickr account
http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/sets/72157623963903454/

tools that will be needed:
-floor jack
-flat head and Phillips head screw driver
-t25 and t40 torque screw drivers
-pliers
-saw
-10mm wrench or socket
-6 hose clamps 2 1/4-2 3/4 min
-1 breaker bar for the t40 torque
optional but possibly necessary (not shown in image below)
two 3in long 2.5in diameter pieces of pipe
two 2.5in silicone hose's

This DIY will be in sections
1.bumper removal
2. upper radiator support removal and placement
3. stock intercooler removal
4. new intercooler placement

Section 1.
The first thing you need to do to remove your bumper is remove the top six plugs (as shown below)

A good method of removing these without breaking them is to twist a flat head screw driver under the tab while assisting the other side up (as shown below)

Once all the tabs are removed it is time to start on the side of the wheel wells removing the screws within them. For this you will need a Phillips head screw drive and a t25 torque. To make this simple turn your steering wheel to the left or right to give you more room. Start on either side you wish. There are 3 screws along the bumper that use the t25 and one at the bottom that is a Phillips head. Remove all the screws and place safely off to the side. (images below)
screw at the top of the wheel well