SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a unique problem. After about 30 miles of driving, my 2001 Saab 9-5 Aero (74000 miles) has a check engine light come on and an exlamation point alert next to it. After driving it a little more it goes into "Limp home mode." I took it to a transmission place and they held it for 2 days then said they would need to take the engine out to see if they could find anything. But they charge $900 just to look. I'm a recent college grad so I dont have $900 to blow just to see if they can find something, then pay more labor and parts on top of that if they actually find something. I know its not an easy process but it's more than I can afford. I can definitely feel a problem when the cars shifts gears (automatic). The code that comes up is P0730- Incorrect Gear Ratio. Please let me know if you might know whats wrong.

Attachments

·
Registered
7,988 Posts
this diagnostic trouble code is generated when the ratio from input (engine speed) to output (vehicle speed) is not "correct" for the gear that the car is currently in.

This code will not be generated until the transmission is at operating temperature (above 20-degrees C) so you may have an issue before you get to that temp, but the DTC won't get kicked. Once that happens, the transmission is in limp-home-mode (different from engine limp-home-mode) and will only go into 4th gear in drive and 2nd gear in Low.

There are many causes for this. In order of "lowest cost" to "highest cost" they are:

1: the fluid is low, bad, old, whatever and that is causing the transmission slip. A band or a clutch is not holding properly. The remedy is to do a 3-x drain, fill, drive 20 miles with the proper Dextron III (or equivalent) fluid.