SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Maybe it's because i'm a newbie or because my english is poor.
But I don't understand how LH 2.4 ECU handles fuel-cut during overboost situations since there is no overpressure switch and it doesn't seem to use the boost pressure sensor.

What are the symptoms on (heavy loaded) driving when this occurs? Suddendly lost of power following by a timing position going back to base setting and then will begin to re-advance the timing to retrieve power (and that loop will start again until the load decreases)?

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

P.S. Bentley says:
Turbo models have an additional pump safety feature that turns the pump off during overboost situations. On cars with LH 2.2, this feature is handled by an overpressure switch. On 1989 and later cars with LH 2.4, the LH control unit handles this feature.

·
Registered
5,673 Posts
Maybe it's because i'm a newbie or because my english is poor.
But I don't understand how LH 2.4 ECU handles fuel-cut during overboost situations since there is no overpressure switch and it doesn't seem to use the boost pressure sensor.

What are the symptoms on (heavy loaded) driving when this occurs? Suddendly lost of power following by a timing position going back to base setting and then will begin to re-advance the timing to retrieve power (and that loop will start again until the load decreases)?

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

P.S. Bentley says:
Turbo models have an additional pump safety feature that turns the pump off during overboost situations. On cars with LH 2.2, this feature is handled by an overpressure switch. On 1989 and later cars with LH 2.4, the LH control unit handles this feature.
it's in the LH2.4 ECU

the ECU retrieves voltage from the air mass meter to calculate fuel, when the air mass voltage exceeds a pre set point within the ECU it cuts the fuel pump.

for 12psi the voltage I believe is 5v