SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Saab 9-3 Arc Convertible & 2008 Saab 9-3 Aero
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I got a Saab 9-3 2008 V6 Aero and wondering what are the steps to remove the fuel tank to replace fuel pump I have read threads here but they don’t show directions
Any help ?

edit & update - jan-2021
i installed a cheap eBay pump worst decision made so if any future saab people come up to this post buy a spectra or OEM one and pay for the full price... also I'm new to the V6 engine I've been owning them for 5 years now and just upgraded to to B284 engine from the 4cy ones so my mistake for doing this !!

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
Download WIS.

I recently dropped the tank to solve an EVAP leak and it wasn’t that bad but obviously, get the tank as empty as you can if possible. I drove the car until the low fuel light came on which leaves about 2.5 gal. The most difficult part was access to the two rear strap bolts as they are very close to the sway bar and required a particular combination of an extension, u-joint and socket. Also, the fill tube vent is a quick disconnect but it isn’t intuitive how it detaches (you squeeze it). I pried it and ruined it so I cut it off and replaced with a short section of fuel line. You should also use an inexpensive plastic fuel line fitting disconnect tool to remove the lines without damaging them.

·
Registered
1,221 Posts
Like stated above, it’s not that bad. If you’re FWD it’s even easier. It’s a little tedious with XWD but not bad. Drop rear sway bar, drop exhaust and you’re about there. Depending where you live and where your car is from, new tank straps may be a good idea. They rust easily

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I got a Saab 9-3 2008 V6 Aero and wondering what are the steps to remove the fuel tank to replace fuel pump I have read threads here but they don’t show directions
Any help ?
Update:
1st. Make sure gas thank is almost empty