SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
1,702 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On my way to work on Tuesday morning and just about to exit the dual carrigeway when my car suffered what I can only think to be head gasket failure.

Suddenly a (huge) cloud of white smoke appeared behing me and the guy following me in a BMW must have thought he was following some kind of James Bond!

Managed to limp to work (only about 1/4 mile) but now the car struggling on idle and has lost water from header tank. There doesn't appear to be any water in the oil so can only assume it is mixing with exhaust gasses?

Any help or hints with replacing gasket appreciated! Ian. :evil:

·
Registered
948 Posts
check the cylinders

im not an expert here but the water could be leaking directly into the cylinders and burning running down into the oil pan. id pull a spark plug and manually turn the engine over if there is water there it will shoot out. ps. ive never done this on a saab but many a time on other cars.

·
Saab Mad
14,069 Posts
cassonian said:
Any help or hints with replacing gasket appreciated! Ian. :evil:
Bag and tag all parts. You'll have forgotten what they're for when you have to put them back. If you have a digital camera, then take loads of photos - they may save your bacon.

If you have the time, then strip the head and take it to an engine shop to be hot-tank cleaned. Have them check the head for flatness and cracks, install new valve guides (if necessary), valve stem oil seals and gently lap in the valves (remember they're stellited).

You could also have them hot-tank the dismantled throttle body, and inlet manifold. I'm always astonished at the amount of crap inside the manifold's plenum.