SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I have been chasing this problem down since I purchased my 1999 9-3 base hatchback.

I'm getting a rhythmic thump, thump, thump that increases directly with my speed. It feels like I'm driving over evenly spaced sticks in the road, and it gets faster as I drive faster.

It REALLY felt like it was coming from the passenger-rear wheel. I replaced 3 of my 4 tires, AND the rear hub assemblies last week. It is still doing it.

I purchased front bearings and have yet to install them.

Could this be a flat-spot in a front bearing? What else could it be?

On a side note, and it may be related, when I had the front wheels off the other day, I noticed that my passenger-front caliper has some back-to-front play in it...(i.e. you can move it about a centimeter forward or backward on the rotor), however the driver's side is stationary as a rock. I hear a thud from that wheel sometimes when I back up...

Would this be related?

I am stumped. These cars are so solid, it's difficult to determine WHERE drive-train/suspension noises are originating from.

Has anyone else run into this?

There is no side-to-side movement or up/down movement in either front wheel when jacked off of the ground. There is no skateboard or grinding noise that is usually indicative of a bad bearing, although the thump, thump does make a bit of rattle in the interior.

Thanks for reading the long post, and for everyone's help!!!!

:)

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'd make sure that caliper is secure, are you saying there is play between the bracket and steering knuckle, there shouldn't be and that would cause a noise like you describe.

I'll check that! That wouldn't cause an actual, continuous THUMP (that increases with speed) though, would it? Clunk while braking -- yes, but a rhythmic thumping?

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·