SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1995 saab 900s 2.3L. When I drive my car the engine does not heat up very fast. if the car is not moving the engine will heat up to the point where it is far past what it would normally be. When I drive my car it stays under where it would normally be unless I turn off the heater all the way then it usually gets to where it needs to be. The check engine light comes on after it has been running for awhile. my heater does not kick out very warm air but the hotter the engine is the hotter the air will be when the car is running. Remember it is winter and cold so I think the air from the outside which is below freezing is cooling the engine when I drive. does this sound like a thermostat problem or heater core or what? btw I am a noob when it comes to cars. Any help in a diagnosis would be appreciated.

·
Registered
21,583 Posts
We definitely have a thermostat problem here,as I see it..

BUT FIRST :
The knowledge, then the service, then the diagnosis.

http://www.geocities.com/[email protected]/NG900SET/Rad_fan/fan_test.html?200717

Heater cores leak, but I have never heard of one that was clogged - but I imagine that this could happen. This would be extremely rare.

I have run across one low mileage Saab with clogged hoses. Why this happened, I will never know..

The CEL is another problem. I think this MAY BE triggered indirectly by a badly stuck or missing thermostat..

Normally the engine should be warm at minute 4 of operation....and hot at 6..

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok so I will replace the thermostat. I did a little research and all I could find was some tutorials for a different engines than mine and they all look different. but I should be able to figure it out. I can get help from my dad. I just wanted to make sure I had the right diagnosis. if u know of any tutorials that would be great. if not thats fine I will figure it out

·