SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been enjoying my aero for a few months now and am thinking about replacing the little wipers for the headlights. i havent really missed them and have been thinking they may be more trouble than they are worth. has anyone ever done this? they are completely missing, the whole assembly that is, with only the peg sticking out from under the light. seems like a piece that could be interchanged through out the 9000 models. I am also still looking for a good manual for american 9k aero that may help me out. opinions/help would both be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
31,228 Posts
Both sides are missing ? Vandalized, or just fell off ? :eek:

I thought the older (pre-'93) E-code headlights had different wipers (ie: longer) ? I could be wrong.

·
Registered
1,739 Posts
Previous owner probably took it off...
A manual you can get from partsforsaabs.com I think. Haynes one. That's really the only one, not taking into consideration ebay stuff and workshop manuals...
Klim

·
Registered
352 Posts
Mine didn't work, one was broken off so I just removed the whole motor assembly. Simple as cake, just take out the corners to get to the headlights, take out the headlights. Then it's just a few more bolts and you'll either have the old's out and reassemble, or put new's in and reassemble.

As for the compatability, the older style 9000's have different shaped wipers to accomodate the larger headlights. They might still work, but they have more of an angle to them.

·
Registered
3,938 Posts
94 and later 9000 use same blades. Certainly the older wiper arms and blades won't fit. Sounds like you are missing the arms and blades as well as the washer tubing. Hopefully the motors still work.

·
Registered
1,739 Posts
If you want ro remove the whole assembly, then just go to saab9000.com. There is a very detailed procedure on this stuff...

Klim

·
Registered
658 Posts