SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Over the past 3 or 4 days, I've read everything I can read about replacing the head gasket......My first question is (based on what I've read) what is the average I'd expect to pay to have it done......

Second question....Some post's make it sound like a daunting task...Others,
sound like it was replacing a headlamp.....For me the biggest concerns are the timing chain, 0 BTDC, lifting the head off, possible warpage, and where do I send the head if it is warped.....I am engineering/mechanically inclined but, I am not a mechanic. so,I don't easily get upside down in territory where I am clueless..Well not intentionally, although I have a habit of liking loose Saabs:cool: and fast :nono; .....ok you get my drift...

I'd like to salvage the coupes (and I luv my purple coupe :cheesy: ) head gasket to possibly drop the engine into my 97, which may have an oil sludge rod or valve problem......

Any help would be greatly appreciated....

·
Registered
246 Posts
Head gasket replacement.

Hi,
I changed the gasket about 4 weeks ago and didn`t find it too bad,i planned 1 day for removal / cleaning and 1 day for the rebuild. I managed it myself apart from lifting the head off and replacing the head which took two people due to the weight of the head and the position of the camchain tensioners. I found the most time consuming part was removing/replacing the inlet manifold due to the position of the bolts (i changed them for cap screws to make it easier). If you search for the "cam timing " post i posted here about 2 weeks ago i may help you with replacing the cam shafts in the correct position.