SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, last year I discovered my HG was leaking, at least it looked like it (not smoking exhaust but stuttered at startup and coolant coming from the turbo flanges) and per recommendations from this forum I stopped driving the car till I had time to dig into it. Now’s the time! I pulled the head and not sure if it was the HG or intake gasket. I’m no expert but the good news is the head looks great, no pitting I can see except some light surface corrosion around the intake coolant passages. I have some decisions to make and some questions and would like your input.

It’s a 1993 900 vert turbo 5 sp with about 135k. My goal is for a reliable, fun car for commuting and running around. Not looking for big hp but may want some minor power upgrades in the future. Here are some issues I’m trying to sort out:
1. the head has not been touched, should I resurface? I want to but am concerned with a machine shop messing it up, worth the risk? I would like to have the flatness verified. I don’t plan to remove the valves or replace the valve seals. If I have the head resurfaced should I have them pull the valves and replace the seals? Should I be concerned with hardness if there is no evidence of corrosion?
2. I ordered SAAB head bolts. The new ones came with washers but the ones I removed did not have them, do I use the washers? Do I lube the threads and bolt head? I read SAAB lubed The bolts with Moly 100 but I’ve read different ways, should I lightly oil the threads and head? I ordered thread chasers to clean the threads.