SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay started after my car wash. Not sure if that has anything to do with it. Engine light comes on, then on the free way my cruise is not working. Get off the freeway and the sob is in limp mode up until around 30 mph. Man, I like my Saab but damn it, 55k on it. I will get the code read here in a bit but this does not sound good.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
458 Posts
If youve got an intake it may have accidentally breathed in enough water to mess with the MAF. Happened to me on a previous car.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Did a battery unhook for 30 minutes and the car is fine. Light is off limp is gone and cruise works. Wow I was sweating bullets. Hmmm Good song. Darn Saab gremlins.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
138 Posts
Interceptor said:
Did a battery unhook for 30 minutes and the car is fine. Light is off limp is gone and cruise works. Wow I was sweating bullets. Hmmm Good song. Darn Saab gremlins.
Dave Mustaine seems like he'd be a Saab guy. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
922 Posts
Get a little Actron pocket OBD2 port scanner, it will show you the code, then you could look it up on the web.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ACTRON-OBD-II-AUTOSCANNER-AMERICAN-CAR-DIAGOSTIC-TOOL_W0QQitemZ130246560409QQcmdZViewItem?_trksid=p3286.m20.l1116

Also, ebay has a truckload of WIS up to 2007 TechII DVDs. All you need is a USB to OBD2 cable and you are ready to diagnose.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Saab-Service-Repair-Manual-9-3-2003-2004-2005-2006-2007_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp3286Q2em63Q2el1177QQhashZitem220281055917QQitemZ220281055917

I don't dare do TechII mods on my 2008 car, but the 2007 data apply very well to my car, so i was able to remove trims, fix a door squeak with ease. The pictures are great, makes work on the car a breeze.

Love WIS, a very nice interface, much better than the Volvo web based interface with 10 passwords, that cost $15 for 3 days of use.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Ok, the problem is back. I reset the battery again and its off but it happened at a standstill. So your saying a standard OBD II will not work? I will have to head to Autozone I guess.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Lmao...ahhh the best movie. Pffttt, not right now I have a meeting with the bobs. Man I need some of the vets on here to help. Do I need the TPS switch or a pedal tps switch???? If its the tps switch on the throttle body, can I buy one seperate or the whole damn throttle body? I can't seem to find the switch anywhere on the web.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,410 Posts
From the WIS:

P2135

Throttle position sensor circuit; Plausibility fault between circuit 1 and 2

Symptom:
Fault indicator lamp
Cruise not working
limp home

Fault criteria:
Difference in voltage between throttle position sensors 1 and 2 is 4-8%, depending on position of throttle (4% for unactuated pedal, 8% for depressed pedal)

System reaction:
Correction of mass air flow/combustion for fuel calculation is blocked
Limited acceleration and idle function
Cruise control blocked
Secondary air switched off

WIS basically advises checking the wiring harnesses for breaks/shorts.

This is a bit of a weird one. I would remove the plastic engine shroud and see if anything got wet.

We have had some other TPS problem threads lately. I have described elsewhere (paraphrased the WIS, actually) how this works. Basically the combined output of TPS1 and TPS2 always sums to 5 V. This checksum is used by the ECM for fault detection in the TPS.

I can't find the TPS part number in the EPC. I'm not sure it's separate from the throttle body. The EPC implies that it is. It refers you to section 2-5500, which is charge air plumbing. Unfortunately the TPS is not shown there!! Maybe someone else can find this part #.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Thanks for the info.....Can someone point me to where the throttle body is located? I have the cover off and man I cannot find the bugger. The dealer route is not an option right now $$. So I need to see if I can get the tps switch located or replace the whole throttle body if that is the case. Seems to be a problem for our cars.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Found the throttle body.....Now trying to find out if there is two tps....One on the throttle body which I can see and one at the pedal...I am thinking so since the code came up as tps pedal switch fault.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,410 Posts
Remove engine cover. As you face car note large charge air hose coming off right side of intercooler. Follow hose to intake manifold. It attaches to throttle body, which is bolted to intake.

To the right of my hand in this photo:
http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=2207

BTW, I decided to start renaming these threads once the DTC (diagnostic trouble code) is retrieved. Hopefully that will make it easier to find things using the forum search function in the future.
 
1 - 20 of 63 Posts
Top