SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I read over a few different posts on replacing the fuel pump from above vs dropping the tank on our OG 9-3's, so what follows is pertaining to this method. I'm a rookie mechanic when it comes to anything related to fuel or electrical issues, so please forgive the elementary nature of my questions here.

I went ahead and ordered the whole fuel pump assembly from E-Europarts (part no. 23342785), as this corresponded to my 1999 model year 9-3 according to them. The price was reasonable enough at $86.

My observations are as follows:

1. The diameter of the cover for the new fuel pump assembly is roughly 5.5 inches (pic attached)

2. The cover as seen in the pic I took after cutting out a portion of sheet metal and carpet measures 3.5".

I'm assuming the black cover in my photo comes off, but if so, what is the best way to remove it? Any clarification in this regard would be much appreciated from you all. Thanks in advance for your answers.

Attachments

·
Registered
9,678 Posts
I wonder if the pump has already been replaced by a tank drop (as you had to cut open the floor)?

The pump should be secured by a lock ring, which is not visible in your picture. What happens if you pull up on the black plate?

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
EdT - you are correct about the lock ring. The new fuel pump came with one, but the existing pump does not look to have one. As for lifting up on the black plate, I tried prying it lightly with a flat head screwdriver, but it didn't move much, and I decided against it for now, that is, until I get some more information on this forum. Maybe I need to simply apply more pressure when prying it off, but figured I should play it safe.

Just an FYI, the new pump I ordered from E-Europarts was a ProParts unit, i.e. Professional Parts Sweden.

·
Registered
9,678 Posts