SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First of all, I would like to say that I am new to Saabs and this forum, therefore, I apologize if I sound a little unknowledgeable and if I put this thread in the wrong location. So my problem is that I was using my combi adapter to flash my T5 ECU with a bench power supply. I followed the T5 documentation power pinout and had like 10 alligator clips going into the ECU and long story short the ECU short-circuited or something and proceeded to start smoking and now continues to whenever I try to hook it up to power. My ECU appears to be in good condition other than the burnt part. Am I able to replace the burnt-out piece on the board if so what is it called and how do I find such a piece. If not, what is required to marry/install a new ECU into my '99 9-3.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Ooof that doesn't sound great! Assuming the capacitor is what is smoking (the big circular red thing): Capacitors are cheap and easy to replace (assuming you have a soldering iron). However, I'd be worried that something else is fried as well, just didn't smoke.

When did it start smoking? Could you walk us through the steps you took? Did you attach all the wires then apply power? Could the alligator clips have touched another contact? Are you 100% sure you connected to the right pins? If not, which pins could've been incorrectly connected too?

I can take one of my ECU's apart and see what that cap is connected too, maybe it'll provide some insight to what happened.

In the future, I'd recommend soldering on some wires so you don't have to used alligator clips. I can upload a picture of my setup.

Trionictuning.com is also a great resource, though I've found there are a lot more people using T7 rather than T5.

Once you figure it out, Trionic tuning is a blast!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3