SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A trick I discovered today which might be of interest to the community. I am not an automotive mechanics and work on my car when I really have to.
recently, I had to change the end-plate on my car (2002 Saab 9-3 SE Turbo Convertible) and to do so I removed the engine from the engine-bay.
On reassembling the engine, I had to lock the flywheel in order to tighten the 6 bolts connecting the flywheel to the crankshaft. the specification for my car are: 14.7 ft-lbs + 50º
Obviously I did not have the proper tool, and purchasing it on line was either too expensive or too time consumingS So I improvised as follow:
  • I put the flywheel on the crankshaft and applied the initial torque of 14.7 ft-lb on all 6 bolts with some blue loctite.
  • Then I used a breaker bar with a 19 mm socket and put the socket on the 1st flywheel bolt. It does not matter which bolt is tightened first, simply mark it so you know where you start
  • Using the long handle (25in) of the breaker bar as a reference, I measured 90º by sight, then took half (45º) and added a little bit to reach 50º, then I made a mark on the flywheel with a marker.
  • before starting all this, l had placed the starter back on the engine with its 2 screws, not tight, just firm (the sprockets on the starter were not engaged on the flywheel teeth since there is no electrical power on the engine)
  • then I placed one large screw driver in one tooth of the flywheel and rested the shaft of the screw driver on the housing of the starter.
  • with one hand, I held the screw driver firmly to prevent the flywheel from turning, and
  • with the other hand I applied pressure on the breaker bar to turn the 1st bolt on the flywheel and tighten it.
  • I tightened until the handle of the breaker bar passed over the mark I had made in the flywheel.