SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I'm just in the process of getting a hold of a Stage 4 APC unit from SD as well as 4 red series fuel injectors. I have also sourced a 3.0 Bar FPR. Is there anything else I need to consider here? I'm basically after around 200hp as a starting point. Am I better off just going with the modified APC unit and upgraded FPR for now and worry about the injectors later??

I'm very new to all this but am keen to upgrade my machine.
The car is a 1988 SAAB 900 Aero with 182,000km on the clock. Overall the car is in immaculate condition.

·
Registered
279 Posts
You're heading in the right direction. I would be sure to replace all vacuum lines if you haven't yet. After those mods, you should be looking at eliminating the cast iron downpipe elbow, and replacing with a much more seamless 2.5"-3" downpipe. I would also recommend eliminating the airbox and moving the battery to that location before doing the downpipe. A user here, dmgb5, built his own exhaust that allowed him to keep the battery in the original location. Many us just move it =]. The next step will be FMIC, Front Mount InterCooler.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great!! Thanks for the reply. Where is the best and most cost effective place to get a hold of the vacuum hoses as this hasn't been done as yet. I have the opportunity to pick up a FMIC from a 9000 (with turbo) for $90 in Perth so I might just do that and look at doing that in the future. Where can I get a 3" downpipe from - are there any aftermarket companies that supply this part?

·
Registered
279 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #5