SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Saab newbie here. This may be a dumb question, but what's the difference between the DRL and the normal headlights? Comparing the both of them visually, there seems to be no difference. They both seem to be of the same intensity and even from the same bulb. Am I wrong?

·
Registered
1,704 Posts
There is no difference in the light output, just the operation of the lights themselves (the ability to turn the headlights off when needed).

There are numerous posts about DRLs, the disabling of them, the pros and cons of them, the legality of them, and the impact on the environment from them, etc, etc, etc. You should be able to find everything you wanted to know but were afraid to ask about them using the search function.

·
Registered
1,147 Posts
9-3 Aviateur said:
Saab newbie here. This may be a dumb question, but what's the difference between the DRL and the normal headlights? Comparing the both of them visually, there seems to be no difference. They both seem to be of the same intensity and even from the same bulb. Am I wrong?
You are correct.

As far as I know, in the stock configuration there are two differences between 'On' and 'Off'. In the 'On' position, you can A) turn on the fog lights and B) leave the high beams on. In the 'Off' position, the fogs won't illuminate and the high-beams will only work in the flash-to-pass mode, i.e., holding the turn signal stalk back activates but won't keep them on when you release.

That's it. No differences in which lights are illuminated, no differences in brightness.

As sptsdn said, this topic comes up a lot and I'd encourage you to do a search as well. FWIW, I like my 9-3 a whole lot better since I had the dealer disable the DRL's ;).

·
Registered
1,127 Posts