SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all,

I have just read through many posts about speakers but I have created a new one as I have a different problem. Apologies if it has already been covered.

The problem: The front left door speaker (Passenger side) sounds blown.
There is "some" definition coming through but way too much bass / overdrive.

Upon replacing with a new JBL 2ohm 6.5inch GT0928 speaker - the problem persists.

I have a stock head unit and stock amplifier under the passenger seat with no known changes / issues from the previous owner. No changes to the audio system have been carried out - no CD stacker or AUX additions either.

I have no electrical knowledge - but I will add that both wires lighted up my connection detector showing both are running power? This must be wrong? (just lights if power is present - no voltmeter).

The speaker mounting is stock and does not rattle.

The too much bass / overdrive (blown) sound is present all through the volume range, but only to that speaker.

Upon putting the stock speaker on a small 2 x AA battery tester - it pops and doesn't appear to be blown.

The car is a 2003 9-3 2.0T Arc.

Any help / diagnosis would be great!

I do plan to take it to a dealer - but I just wanted to learn and find out if there is something I can do also!

·
Super Moderator
20,259 Posts
And don't take it into the dealer unless you want to get raped. By a refurbished or used one. Try goldwingsaab or the classifieds here.

·
Registered
274 Posts
Hey all,

I have just read through many posts about speakers but I have created a new one as I have a different problem. Apologies if it has already been covered.

The problem: The front left door speaker (Passenger side) sounds blown.
There is "some" definition coming through but way too much bass / overdrive.

Upon replacing with a new JBL 2ohm 6.5inch GT0928 speaker - the problem persists.