SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After looking at about 20 different posts on replacing a dying clutch, it seems there are two routes.
1. cough up over $1,000 for labor and have a shop do it
2. DIY

I'm a recent college graduate, working two jobs, paying off student loans so #1 isn't an option right now. However, I can scrape together $350 bucks for a new clutch and dedicate my weekend to teaching myself how to change my own clutch and do the job myself (or with a fellow saab enthusiast that likes to help)

I was hoping you could please shed some light on the subject and give me a little advice.

I have most of the necessary equipment to perform the job (jacks, tools, stands) however, i want to make sure this isn't beyond my capabilities. I am in no ways a noob to the upgrade scene. All the upgrades on my Saab have been done myself including, MP cross flow IC, 3in dp, catback exhaust, brake job, and everything in between.

How big of a job is replacing the clutch?
Can someone handy with a wrench perform this change in a weekend?
Where's the best place to find a detailed guide to help me through the job?
What else should i be aware of when replacing the clutch?

Any help would be extremely appreciated.
Thanks in advance
-Ben

·
Registered
2,490 Posts

·
Registered
18,382 Posts
You'd probably require lots of handyness and equipment to manage a weekend, but two...

You could probably skip resurfacing if you haven't let it slip too long.

·
Registered
12,355 Posts
Instead of using the 2 hydraulic jacks like are shown on Platonoff's site, I bought a 800 lb capacity transmission jack at harbor freight for $100. Overkill, I know, but I also have a Sierra PU that I may need to use it on sometime (hopefully in the distant future). And it would also work on a gas tank.