SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I am a beginner in DIY. I came across with a disfunctional parking light (or direction indicator) in the front left. After replacing the bulb, a bigger trouble came.

To begin with, the direction indicator didn't shine. Instead, the fron parking light works as the indicator. I got a bulb (in amber color) from Autozone and replaced it. I put some light grease too. The old bulb seems good since the filaments are okay. But the light didn't shine as well. I also dissembled the lights on the right side just to check the interior of the mounter. After put all the stuff back, I inserted the car key and all the light on the instrumental panel shined. I tried to crank, but failed. I only heard the starter click. With a couple trials, the battery was out. I jumped the car and the car cranked.

Now I see the direction indicator for turning right blink faster than usual while the one for left is normal.

Is it possible the relay for the right indicator fails? I am not familiar with how to check the relay and other stuff.

Thank you.

·
Registered
12,793 Posts
The 'flashing' function is controlled by the DICE unit, there is no 'flasher relay'
If one side of the directionals flashes quicker than the other it normally means that there is a bulb out on that side. Check all 3 bulbs on each side (front, side marker, rear).

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you, Jakejm79.
I will check the bulbs on the right, but I am wondering why the bulb would have been out. Also, it is weird that the left side flasher doesn't work even if the bulb seems Okay.

The 'flashing' function is controlled by the DICE unit, there is no 'flasher relay'
If one side of the directionals flashes quicker than the other it normally means that there is a bulb out on that side. Check all 3 bulbs on each side (front, side marker, rear).

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·