SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On my Saab 9-3, I wanted to ask if the head gasket replacement is a big job? I am an aircraft mechanic and did a timing belt change on my previous Honda Accord, so it is not an issue if it is complicated. I wanted to simply know if it is worth it with this vehicle.

The car has 220,000 miles on it and the first problem was the upper radiator hose, which blew and was promptly replaced. 4 weeks later the two small hoses going to the heat exchanger burst and were also promptly replaced. Two weeks after that I found the water was escaping through some small hole. I found it to be a crack in the radiator plastic, just under the upper radiator hose. So I patched it up and now am waiting for some new leak to appear :confused:. I did notice a scent of fuel fumes when I remove the coolant tank cap. I also need to add water to the cooling system even though there is no leak anywhere (the car burns the water?)

I did have smoke coming out of the exhaust during the winter months and a rough running engine after starting, including funny rough starts, which appeared to be due to water leaking into the cylinder bore.

I wanted to fix the car and give it to my wife's sister to drive, but don't want to start a job which will be too big or requiring special tooling.

Kind Regards,
K

·
Registered
21,583 Posts
On my Saab 9-3, I wanted to ask if the head gasket replacement is a big job? I am an aircraft mechanic and did a timing belt change on my previous Honda Accord probably quite easy, I hope, on the old '88 it was done, and now on the newer '97, a task for next month, and I think its overdue(nearly 90K miles), so it is not an issue if it is complicated. I wanted to simply know if it is worth it with this vehicle.I think so, how its body, engine, transmission.??