SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Here goes nothing. I'm going to try and make my own digital tachometer for my '93 900 non-turbo. I'm currently sitting at home for winter break and BORED OUT OF MY MIND with utterly nothing to do (nothing is broken on the Saab *knocks on wood*). I'm in my second year of studies as an electrical engineer with a keen interest in computers/circuits. What better way to apply myself than to use what I learned in ECE230 (Microcontrollers and Computer Architecture) at Rose-Hulman to create my own digital tach. I'm sure I'll have detailed technical questions along the way, but for now, all I want are ideas for mounting this thing. I don't even have an LCD screen yet, let alone anything to mount the screen in. So... whatever ideas you've got, throw them at me!

Also, if anyone knows where I can buy a properly sized LCD, I'm listening. The one I was taught how to use in class used a "standard 14 pin connector".

Cheers,
David

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Does anyone know any many pulses the (crankshaft mounted) hall sensor creates per revolution?

·
Registered
178 Posts
i almost went to rose hulman the phone thing and legos were pretty cool recruitment tools.

Sparkfun is the place to go to get any kinds of good components with a description of what they do. Adafruit, and digikey are good too. It's just a matter of preference. If you are new to programming then you can get an Arduino since they are easy to cobble things together with and have billions of examples laid out for beginners otherwise any chip will do. I suggest getting a serial 2 pin lcd that way you have more pins open for other sensors that you are inevitably going to throw in nor or later. Also it will help when you cannibalize it for another project. its easier to work with and just as simple to code.