SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to everyone on the forums!

I am new to the saab world. I picked up a 9000 couple weeks ago as a daily beater. Its a 91 5speed turbo. I am not new to turbo cars, I own a 300+ wheel horsepower miata, and a turbo e36 track car.

I am assuming its not the LPT version because its got the factory boost gauge, 3 spoke wheels with 1 inch polished lip, heated and power everything, black with gangster mint green pinstripes! haha

Anyways, I was quick to fabricate a 3 inch manderal downpipe and exhaust with a borla muffler, 3 inch intake pipe with HKS filter, and apexi boost controller set at 14psi via defi gauge. stuff laying around.

Couple questions...

I have read that 14psi seems to be the max with the stock injector set up... Is this true??

I also read that the stock injector size is 240cc... Is this true?

Also, my buddy is junking his 1999 9-3 turbo auto.
Are the injectors from that larger then my 9000's?
Anything else usefull from his car?

I am not really looking to make serious power, just enough to have fun reliably. (Max the stock turbo and call it a day which i figure is about 18-20 psi)

Thanks in advance,
Chelsea

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
std injectors are good for around 300bhp, maybe a little bit more but within the limits of your turbo etc.. - probably around 260 / 270 from your turbo

your boost can go to over 30psi if you want but there,s no value in it, around 20 psi is a typical max for efficiency if you get the fueling / ignition to match, but you,ll need to get the boost cut limit raised to release this

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So the stock injectors support 20psi? What is the AF ratio at that amount of boost, and at what fuel pressure should I be running them? Seems pretty high for the stock 260cc injector.

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
ienjoydrifting said: