SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, it's my first time posting here and i was hoping you guys could help me out with a few questions. I recently bought a saab 94 900se turbo. It had a 148k miles, so I guess I should have expected something to go wrong. It worked flawlessly for about 2 weeks, but then the gears starting acting funky. Sometimes it would grind when i tried to shift even if the clutch was put all the way in. Sometimes if i was on a hill it would sort of roll back an inch at a time if you were rocking, even though it was parked and in reverse (no E brake, that's another problem)

However, then it went out completely i think. My car stalled out after the gears went crazy, and i pushed it into a parking lot. Now I can start my car, but if i release the clutch, it stalls. I can put it into gear, but no amount of gas will make it move, it just shoots the RPMs up, and when i release the clutch too far, it stalls. Now my question is this. I live in Minnesota, US, and this is definately a foreign car. What are the chances a regular mechanic will work on my car? How many hours of labor should I expect to pay? How much does a clutch itself cost? Is the saab dealer my only option? I really am not a car savy person, so it's not something I could do.

The other question is pretty simple and not all that important. My E Brake is either broken, or just not connected to anything. I can pull the lever all i want, but it never does anything. Anyone know how tricky that is to fix?

Thanks again, and i really do appreciate your time and responses.

Kelden

·
Registered
2,541 Posts