SaabCentral Forums banner

Charging woes

837 63
1999 9-3 2.0L

My dad's car quit charging the other day. Today I removed the alternator and had it bench tested at local parts store. Passed all tests. Reinstalled it, still nothing. Wiring is complete from Alt to battery. Ground has continuity to battery from alt case. Running off the battery, I unhooked the pos cable at battery and it immediately died so definitely not charging.

Educate me on the idiot light wire on the alternator. It is on when running (cause it not charging obviously). Isn't this an exciter wire of sorts? Seems if it wasn't functioning correctly (blown bulb, broken wire, etc) then the light wouldn't be on at all....

I'm a fair mechanic. Just not much experience with saabs.
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
03 vert se-sports pkg, 01 viggen vert
820 Posts
If there's no voltage coming off the alternator then somebody's tester ain't working right would be my guess. if you pull the battery cable off while it's running and it dies its not charging the battery

·
Registered
03 vert se-sports pkg, 01 viggen vert
820 Posts
That's what I told him and he said there was no voltage with a multimeter he also said it passed the diode test but there is a specific test for that with a multimeter that's what happened to mine it would still charge but when it's set it had a 2.1 amp back drain overnight killing the battery

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
I suspect the shop test also. Gonna try a jumper wire to the exciter terminal and see if that kicks it on. We tried revving it up and still read no voltage. Dad and got a new alternator tonight so if the jumper to the exciter doesn't do it then it's getting installed. Voltage at alternator matched battery voltage so cable is good and not corroded or broken. Ground has continuity to case of alternator. I don't know what else it could be. I'll post back with results.

Thanx everybody

·
Registered
322 Posts