SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought that would grab your attention!! Lol

I'm a fab/composite tech. I build all kings of cool stuff from cool materials.

I really hate the look of the factory cobra. It just looks like crap. I thought about the king cobra but still... Just not my cup of tea. I'm thinking about Making a mold to create a carbon fiber cobra. I know temps are an issue so that's why I'm here. Is it possible you guys could help me with this?? I need to find out how hot the area closest to the turbo gets so I can figure out what kind of ressin it will need to be made from. I'm figuring phenolic but the stuff I have on hand is only good to about 200F. I can get higher temp stuff and can get up into the 500F range but that gets pricy. Im trying to go with scraps and stuff that's on hand. I have some Honda "friends" I need to piss of so I want this by September. I'm planning LOTS of carbon bits!!

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I should probably add that my car is just about stock. I have only had it about a week. I'm looking for temps from a more modded car that would work the turbo a little more.... Build more heat. I know a more open exhaust and charge air lines will reduce temps but I want to be sure. I can get temps from my turbo this weekend when it's going to be warmer.

Who knows... If I get the tooling and layup right, there might be a few on eBay.

·
Registered
2,377 Posts
If it looks good, works great and priced right I may buy one...eventually. still havnt brought my exhaust or tune yet. darn bills never stop piling up

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
^^ +1