SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
20-22psi, at the tippy top my friend. with proper hardware, expect anywhere from 300-320bhp with those boost numbers on the td-04 :cheesy:

after that, youre gonna run into reliability issues first. thats quite a bit of boost for a relatively smaller turbo to hold.

REMEMBER THOUGH: you should think in terms of horsepower and torque goals INSTEAD of boost goals.

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
try one of our site sponsors:
genuinesaab.com
partsforsaabs.com

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
perfect i will check em out tommarow and let you know what i find. also is there anything special i should know before i tear it apart and rebuild it? its my first time but i have seen quite a few videos about rebuilding turbos and read a couple books on it so im going to give it a try. thanks

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
its not a cakewalk, but not that hard from what i've heard. I dont have a lot of DIY experience myself, but i would tackle a turbo replacement if i had to.

id estimate 5-8 (for decent DIYer) hours to do it. There might be a few little bumps in the road, but its not like you're trying to machine a head yourself :cheesy:. Not rocket science!

so your td-04 failed? thats disheartening. I am told its a very strong turbo, you dont see many go. But it might just be faster to buy a new one and plop it in rather than rebuilding.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
well i dont know how it failed i bought it off a guy at my work fro 20 bucks and it has some shaft play and he said it would need rebuilt.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·