SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2000 9-5 2.3t
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a 2000 9-5 2.3t. I bought it as a cheap beater, not realizing the potential the 2.3's have (I grew up around 900's. I don't know much about G.M. saabs) Eventually I would like to start builing it. I just wanted some opinions on weather I would be better off working with the 235 that it came with or if I should find a 234 to build. Also suggestions for performance mods would be appreciated. Like I said, I'm new to 9-3's/9-5's. Thanks a lot for the help.

·
Registered
8,468 Posts
The B234 is supposed to be a more stout design than the B235.

That being said, I think it would be an extreme project to build anything other than a T7 9-5. The components are highly integrated. That means adapting T7 sensors and accessories to a 9000's T5 2.3. That's potentially open-ended. Someone may have done that, but I don't know how many have.

There are known recipes for upgrading a T7 engine. After a certain point, you're into pistons and rings. But I think it would be much more straightforward and understood.

·
Registered
2000 9-5 2.3t
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The B234 is supposed to be a more stout design than the B235.

That being said, I think it would be an extreme project to build anything other than a T7 9-5. The components are highly integrated. That means adapting T7 sensors and accessories to a 9000's T5 2.3. That's potentially open-ended. Someone may have done that, but I don't know how many have.

There are known recipes for upgrading a T7 engine. After a certain point, you're into pistons and rings. But I think it would be much more straightforward and understood.
That makes a lot of sense. Why re-invent the wheel right? Thanks!

·
Registered
2 Posts