SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

I've been looking for an easy way to add an aux port onto my 9-3 1999. I've read the posts that lead to the blogs (http://technicaldiversions.blogspot.com/) and sites (http://gatoalfa.calipso.com.co/radioMod/saabRadioMod.html or http://www.sethevans.com/auxinput.html) that talk about modding the radio and patching the boards on the radio so the phone input becomes stereo and is used for an aux port. I'm worried that I'll mess something up if I go that route.

I then read the posts and sites about cutting into the CD changer cable and putting in a switch to switch back and forth between the changer and an aux port (http://users.adelphia.net/~jlehome/aux_input.htm). This seemed much easier. The trouble is, I don't have a changer and I don't want to shell out the $500 for the changer just so I can plug things into an aux port (I am just a poor grad student, after all).

As a side note, the changer is required in the above option because it doesn't change anything in terms of communication with the head unit. In other words, the user cycles the src from radio, to cd, to cd changer. While the CD in the changer is playing, the user flips a switch leaving the changer playing but diverting just the left and right audio to an aux port. That gets around the complicated propriatory communication issues associated with Saab head units.

Therefore, what I'm looking for is a way to trick my 1999 9-3 5-door factory installed head unit into thinking that there is a changer, that it is loaded, and that a cd in it is playing. I figure if its possible to do this, I can still use the changer cable already there for the aux port. I was hoping someone might have an idea about shorting out some part of the cable or something. Does anyone have any idea how I might do this?