SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I'm planning on doing a manual conversion on my 1999 93 and I want to make sure I've got everything I need.

Stuff I have:
Transmission, clutch, pressure plate, flywheel
Axles, intermediate shaft and bracket (have from manual car, but I'm thinking they are the same?)
Shifter/linkage
Clutch pedal (any other pedals need to be replaced? maybe brake?)
Cable clutch wire (but I'm looking for a hydraulic system)
All necessary wiring

Stuff I'm not sure about:
ABS (Tech II fix?)
MIU (Tech II fix? I might buy a manual one since I don't like the auto version. Tech II divorce/marry? I'm a newbie, not sure how that works)
SID (Tech II fix?)

Any other concerns you guys have?

Thanks so much

·
Registered
67 Posts
I did the conversation a few years ago.

You need a shorter brake pedal. You can cut it or buy a manual one.

ABS and SID are the same, but you need to use Tech 2 to update the settings to manual.
You need a manual MIU, or else the MIU cant communicate to the auto tran and the auto tran warning light will stay on. But for me, I just took the MIU out, remove the auto tran warnings light bulb.

The most important thing is to remove the auto tran control unit behind the glove box. After you remove it, the ECU and other electric stuffs will think it is a manual car. Then you can change the ABS SID settings using Tech2.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Bobssabit:
My Saab is going to be completely T5. Do you know how similar the T5 is to T7 regarding the information given in the first link? Also, photo.platonoff has always been very helpful, thank you.

Himhk: