SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I am in the process of upgrading the head unit and speakers in my 1997 900SE.

I connected the wiring harness as per Crutchfield's directions and plugged it into the car's wiring to make sure everything worked. To my dismay, the front dash speakers and the rear speakers were fine, but the door speakers were not working.

When it comes to car audio, I am a complete newbie. Can anyone explain what I might be missing and what I must do to rectify the problem?

Be detailed and gentle, if possible. I wouldn't want to hurt myself or my car in the process! ;)

-DJ

·
Registered
1,887 Posts
i just did the same thing, and first of all there was a problem with the harness adapter that i got from crutchfield. the battery and acc wires were reversed. you might want to check that out. and to get the door speakers to work you need to bypass the stock amp. which means removing the plastic trim panel on the side of the center console. which is where the amp should be located. when you see the amp there should be speaker wires which come out of the amp (4 wires) different colors like orange and yellow and green and brown or something like that. what i did was i cut the connectors off of the ends and spliced speaker wire from those ends and then connected the other ends into the harness to their respective locations. if you can't understand that it's understandable. i will take pictures tomorrow to show you what i mean more clearly.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
^ Cool. I did swap the red/yellow connectors, so that all seems good. I was unaware of the amp. I'd love it if you could post some pics! :)

Anyone else, feel free to chime in.

Also, will I need to remove the stock radio cage or will I re-use it when I install the head unit?

-DJ

·
Registered
1,887 Posts