SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
newbie here and a bit of a novice in the automotive world...

I have a 9-3 Aero Convertible 2005 that is in need of a new tire. It came with Pirelli P6 all seasons and the number thing on the tire is;

P225 / 45 R17 94V M&S Treadwear 400 Temp A

I have read several threads about tires and it is a bit overwhelming! I live in Toronto, so I have to deal with sun, rain, sleet, and snow in my driving. And unfortunately don't have anywhere to store off season tires so I need all seasons.

Any input is greatly appreciated!
Thanks

·
Registered
12,509 Posts
Use the Tire racks "Tire Selector" www.thetirerack.com to find All season tires within your price range and read the reviews, I use Bridgestone RE960 Pole Positions, others may use Kuhmo Ecsta's. You'll see several posts following, probably with strong opinions on whats best...but drivers and conditions, as opinions, are different.

·
Registered
339 Posts
I'm kind of like you, I didn't want to buy winter tires and have to store them, plus in MN we don't get a lot of snow and very often, so I wasn't sure if it was worth the money. I just bought Bridgestone HydroEdges a couple of weeks ago. They are T rated, so they perform slightly less in cornering (so I've noticed anyways), but they are supposed to be a great all season. The tread is perfect for snow, sleet, ice & rain. They don't seem to be any noisier than any other tire on the highway either. They aren't cheap, I got mine for $614 out the door, lifetime warranty and all.

Anne

·
Registered
230 Posts
I changed out my Pirellis last year with Toyo Proxes 4 All season performance. I have no complaints about them. They handle well in rain and they hug the road well at high speeds. As for snow i really cant say much because i have a AWD truck for that, but i have gotten caught a few times in snow/sleet and they performed better than i thought for a low profile tire.

·
Registered