SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

Recently bought an NG900 98R SE Turbo.

When i turn on the power in the car some mildly worrying things happen.

Firstly i am given a warning "ding-dong" which (to me) implies i should be recieving a warning message on the SID. I dont know what version of SID i have.

However no message appears on the SID, infact it is blank, though by defualt upon starting the car it displays my average fuel consumption. Not sure when it goes blank.

At the same time, the "check engine" light appears, as it should, and it disappeers when the ignition is switched, but if you leave the cars power turned on without turning the ignition, the "check engine" light begins to flash.

Is any of this connected? what is likley to be going on? can anyone point me towards useful information sources?
I have had a look round the net and though i have an understanding, im not a mechanic so its difficult to know what i should be searching for.

any advice is appreciated and thanks in advance.

-Theo

p.s. no other warning symbols appear on the dash, the "bing-bong" only happens once, i do have one main beam bulb out but no specific warning lightappears for this (i guess it could be a knackered dash bulb, in which case im worrying about nothing) and the car "appears" to drive fine though i havnt given it a proper run yet.

Thanks again!

·
Registered
1,388 Posts
When I bought mine I had the same ding dong sound with no warning light or message displayed. Mine turned out to be the ABS system but the ABS warning light bulb was busted. Actually 4 warning lights in mine were busted when I got it, so I had to remove the instrument cluster, crack the speedo open to replace all the bad bulbs.

When you turn on the key to run, (not start) check to see which warning lights come on and post them here.

On mine I get:
- Check Engine
- Check Gear box (automatic)
- Red Triangle thing
- ABS
- Battery
- Oil
- TCS