SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy. I'm new to Saabs and haven't worked on one before. I have one that belongs to a friend and I'm going to do the brakes, alternator, and belts. She took it to a shop with a new alternator, but understandably didn't want to give them the $400 they wanted. She got the car back, where it sat in the parking lot where we work. I offered to repair the car, so I drove it the 12 miles to my house, only to realize that when I went to replace the alternator, there wasn't one in the car. And I don't count the old one in the box in the passenger seat, either. Apparently, the shop my friend took it to kept the new alternator after having removed the belts, and that's the way I drove it home. Is this thing going to live? It made it all that way in stop-and-go traffic with no water pump turning, and it's a turbo engine to boot. Is this even worth the effort? Afterwards, I have to figure out how the belts go on, even though I'm not sure how many it needs, though I'm assuming it's three. The brakes will be easy; all four corners are metal to metal and the car makes a cool sound when the brakes are applied. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,251 Posts
Six Pack said: