SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
22,211 Posts

·
Registered
4,503 Posts
This helps me too. Going to do this this week.

·
Registered
2,020 Posts
I don't get it, then why are people talking about a port behind the headlight?

·
Registered
679 Posts
On my last car an 9-5 SE MY99 the charge point was as described.

On my current car an 9-5 Aero wagon the charge point was tucked in behind the headlight.

So there is a variation on the location with the 4 cyclinder models.

Regards
Michael

·
Registered
2,020 Posts
Ah..gotcha

·
Registered
14 Posts
Hey, I'm rather new to the DIY scene but trying to learn as much as possible. I am rather certain my 2003 Linear needs a recharge as well but my question is at what pressure should the system be at when it's good? I've yet to do a recharge myself but have been reading as much as possible. Anyone have any comments or advice?

·
Registered
740 Posts
Well the system can be at variety of pressures and still be in the right working condition. The manual states that with the AC running "Lo" (aka. max cool) and the ambient temperature being 20C (68F), the low pressure should be between 1.5bar - 2.5bar (22psi - 36psi).

However, test to see if the system works properly based on the temperature of air output:

- close all doors, windows, hood
- open all panel outlets
- with ambient temp 20-25 C, keep engine between 1500-2000rpm
- set fan to max
- set temp to LO
- set direction to panel (face)

After 5 minutes stick a thermometer probe into the center vent. The temperature should read about 7 C.

This is all taken from WIS (Saab Workshop Information System). If you're serious about DIY with your car, I recommend you get a copy ;)

·
Registered
2,020 Posts