SaabCentral Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just bought a 1999 9-3! Great CAR!
It has a couple of minor issues and I'll start with this one:
I can hear a pump running but there is not water coming out. I know I should check and clean out the nozzles (and will in a minute) but I am pretty sure the odds against all of them clogging at once is pretty slim! :D

So I go to look and I cannot even FIND the pump(s?), valves, or even the bottle! the filler neck dissapears into the left front fender liner and being new to Saabs I am clueless as to WHAT to check and even WHERE to FIND what I should check!:eek:

Can someone talk this Saab virgin through this problem? I'm pretty mechanical but don't want to go tearing ito this thing until I have some knowledge.

By the way, we didn't get the owners manual. Is it possible to pick one up for a decent price someplace?

Thanks MUCH in advance!

Doug

·
Registered
4,293 Posts
The washer pump is inside the left wheel well, There is a detailed post by ragtopcav here with pics here about replacing it.

Washers usually can be fixed by cleaning or replacing the check valves, no tools required. I have replaced all but the rear at least once, some twice.

Windshield, headlight, and rear washer nozzles are all on the same pump, but use different hoses and check valves. Hoses lead from the pump forward to the headlights, and back toward the windshield and rear of the car. There are a total of four check valves I know of, passenger, driver, headlight, rear, plus several 2-way connectors.

The plastic connecting T's and L's are also check valves with a rubber diaphram inside that regulate fluid pressure. The straight plastic pieces are just two-way connectors between hoses. The check valves are separate from the nozzles which spray the fluid.