SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been looking for a 900 SE turbo for cheap for a while now, and I keep coming across cheap 900 S. I mentioned it to my friend who comes from the V8 world and he suggested I just supercharge the n/a 2.3. I don't see why this isn't possible, I'm a machinist so I could easily create a bracket to mount a centrifugal supercharger and the correct sized pullies to run an appropriate amount of boost.

This will not be my daily driver - I want to make over 300 whp on race gas with it. Would I have to use lower compression pistons with it? Do B235 internals (viggen, 9-5) work with the B234? Would I be able to tune the stock ecu (manual) to support the supercharger?

Thanks

·
Registered
2,901 Posts
Why don't you just turn the na into a turbo? It will take a lot of work to convert the engine over to handle any kind of boost, why not stick with what saabs run well with?

You can get a turbo saab to run well over 300hp on pump gas if you put the right stuff in it.

Also, a turbo is a different system than a turbo, I'm not sure if the ECU will be able to run with a supercharger.

Just some things to check into. ;)

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I wanted to look into superchargers because every saab is turbo'd - no one is expecting to hear a supercharger whine.

·
Registered
2,901 Posts
ELJonesy said:
I wanted to look into superchargers because every saab is turbo'd - no one is expecting to hear a supercharger whine.
That is a good reason, I can't knock individuality. Just check into some of the things I listed above and if everything is cool, then go for it.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I was looking into getting this with the 2.0T, I think that it would elimate any programming problems I would have with supercharging the 2.3. With retarded timing and high octane gas the compression ratio might not even be too big of a problem....