SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I'm a fairly new driver and until I bought this Saab I'd only driven fuel injection so perhaps this is just a feature of carbs:

If I am holding a steady speed at low-mid rpm, and put my foot down, there is a momentary burst of power followed by almost a second of flatness before the power comes back. Although this isn't a massive problem, I can drive around it, it feels like there is a bit of potential missing.

I replaced the worn out distro cap and rotor arm, didn't seem to make any difference. I've cleaned the carb out by removing the top section, cleaned away any deposits from the parts I could get to with carb cleaner. Carbs are a bit of a mystery to me but I did notice some splits beginning to form in that circular black diaphragm, they don't go right through yet but if somebody tells me what it's called I'll replace it.

Pulled the vacuum pipe from the carb to the dizzy cap and it just broke away in my hand - reattached it ok but presume maybe cracked in other places, will that hurt? Tried sucking and blowing it and the advance/retard diaphragm in the dizzy seems to be working. I couldn't feel much action going on when I covered the hole this pipe goes to on the carb, should that be noticeable?

After all this my diagnostic abilities are just about running out and the flat spot seems to last less long now.

Any advice gratefully received!

·
Registered
2,313 Posts
Sorry, I haven't played with one of those carbs for so long I've almost forgotten what they look like. I do recall they're pretty easy to pull apart and get running smoothly. It's called a Zenith-Stromberg, and there's plenty of info on the net. The diaphragm is called a diaphragm -- you got it in one. If it's cracking, i would replace it.

Carbs on 900 aren't too common -- you might find out more on the 99 forum.

·
Registered
289 Posts