SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to Saabcentral having purchased a 2001 Viggen convert this past November. After reading through 100s of posts and gathering the wisdom of everyone here, I started to accumulate the various parts to transfor the Viggen's handling. So far I added the Genuinesaab torque bar, 22MM RSB and poly engine mount. I have sitting in my garage waiting to be installed:
- Front end poly bushings - every location
- Koni adjustables
- SS brake lines
- BBS RK Wheels (2 of the stock wheels wobble a bit)
- Genuinesaab 6 point chassis brace
- Genuinesaab strut tower brace

Here is my question. I feel the front end is soft and want to stiffen the springs a bit without lowering the car any further. (I already scrape the front spoiler exiting my driveway.) I noticed on the "The Saab Site" parts listing under suspension and related several different front springs for the viggen:
Viggen 3/5 door - CC
Viggen 3/5 door - CD
Viggen Convert - CE
Viggen Convert - CF

Does anyone know what these codes mean as far as spring lenght and stiffness? I am hoping one of these will be a bit stiffer than what is on the car and give me that extra stiffness I am looking for.

·
Registered
1,284 Posts
This is sort of a silly question. Just put the stuff you got on, then think whether or not you need different springs. With all that stuff you are putting in, I would strongly suggest you get a mouthpiece, you will need it. :) Tell me, I just installed the same items (no 6 pt subframe, but a subframe brace neverthesless) in the last few months.

Regards from San Francisco!

·
Registered
11,140 Posts
Where's the Viggen Rescue Kit, the steering rack mount and brace?

I'd do that before anything else....

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yes, the brace (I called it a torque bar) was the first item I installed. It only took one drive to recognize the need for more control.