SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Saab Folks!
Im new to the saab community here. Bought 2 9-3's couple of months ago, 1 2010 fwd 2.0t and the other 2009 xwd 2.0t. Unfortunately the 09's engine shakes when cold start in the colder weather. When diagnosed i got cyl. 4 misfire...my assumptions is that it may need a head job due to soft valves. After warmup the car runs perfect. My options are that I have 2011 b207r engine to buy pending in a salvage yard for $500 for a swap. Is it possible being that I have an 09? The other option is to do a head job. The car has 86k by the way. Just want to get some input here before I take any actions. Thank you!!!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I will try that tomorrow to really confirm...fingers crossed! Thanks for your reply.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So my nightmare is reality...
Cold Compression Test Results

Cyl.1 Dry: 135psi Wet 150psi
Cyl,2 Dry: 135psi Wet 150psi
Cyl.3 Dry: 135psi Wet 150psi
Cyl.4 Dry 40psi Wet 55psi
Any thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
20,205 Posts
It's the intake valve.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Now my other concern is...would a 2011 engine be fitted in a 2009? The 2010 engine has 42k, mine has 86k. Or is it better to a head job?

·
Super Moderator
20,205 Posts
Begs the question. You doing it yourself? A head refresh is probably easier. Most likely not a difficult swap but the no-brainer/I know I won't have any issues with compatibility is to redo the head. DIY would be less than $500.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Yeah, I plan to do the head job myself...with courage to do so, which also means finding a machine shop in the southern CT area.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Yeah, I plan to do the head job myself...with courage to do so, which also means finding a machine shop in the southern CT area.