SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, in an effort to A) build a little bit of a post count, B) Prove i'm a real person on the forum, and C) waste time at work, I figured I'd start a thread here documenting my build of a 2008 9-5 wagon into a Lemons car.

If you've never heard of the 24 Hours of Lemons, it's a racing series for cheap cars. You get $500 to buy and mod a car (plus an unlimited budget for safety gear), and then you bring it endurance racing and hope things don't blow up. I've been doing this for almost 5 years at this point. My previous car was a 1989 Dodge Daytona Shelby that was gloriously terrible.

Enter the new car. My dad finally retired his daily driver, a 2008 9-5 Aero with 254k miles. He's been a team mate in Lemons since the start, and decided the saab would make a good family car so that my siblings can join in on racing. If I pull some super fuzy math on the car's value and what's wrong with it, and what I could sell off, it's totally a $500 car.

Goal is to enter the October Race at NHMS. We bought 94ft of 1.75"x.120 DOM tubing, borrowed a friend's tube bender, and brought the car up to my apartment this weekend to start the surgery. Step 1 is to strip the car, then build a cage, then swap in all the safety stuff from my last car to make it fully legal for the series. Starting the stripping process tonight, at which point I'll have more pictures. I'll also have about 70% of the interior for sale.

Picture of my old car for amusement.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's up there. There've been a few modern cars, and they get stupid numbers of penalty laps, and then you just go racing anyway. We're not going to win, so who cars. This is all about getting my siblings into a "racecar" and having a good weekend.

Next year I'll debut my E36 with terrible engine swap to get us back into the typical lemons madness.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #4