SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a feeling I have the intake valve issue developing. First start of the day has it running unevenly for about 20-30 seconds. Starter sounds like there's low compression on one cylinder before it starts. I plan to run a cold compression test tomorrow morning with my (very) understanding wife operating the starter.

I was wondering if you know of any helpful YouTube videos or write ups I should check out?

I'm a pretty experienced home mechanic and have the WIS to refer to but I do know that you guys have been there already and may well have some tricks up your sleeve.

A bit of background on the car. It's a 08 9-3 2.0T with six speed manual box. It has about 84k miles on the clock and was a California car until this year. We bought it last November. The dealer ran the cold compression test as I watched on a 25°f day and we had 185psi on each cylinder then. Since then it's fallen apart on us. The dealer was pretty helpful considering they didn't have to help legally speaking. The ignition switch module was causing a steering lock malfunction warning after a month. They replaced that. Then last month the balance chain jumped a tooth. They replaced the tensioner and guide (normal problem of the guide snapping). They replaced those at cost. Having said that there's still what sounds like chain noise at idle so I plan to replace both chains and all guides and tensioners at the same time as a possible intake valve replacement. I like the car a lot, we've just had a very rough first few months of ownership. Next time we buy the extended warranty. Although I prefer doing the work myself to ensure it's done correctly.

P.S. I have checked out the intake valve thread.

·
Registered
12,353 Posts
Just curious if you touched the valve cover before the dealer did the test? If it was hot, or even warm, I would suspect that they knew there was a problem before you bought it... Ron

·