SaabCentral Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Saab cranks, but won't start. I have already replaced the spark plugs, the battery, mass airflow sensor, clean air filter, crank shaft position sensor, fuel pump. The read out says: "open loop due to insufficient temperature" and "secondary air status from outside temperature or off" Can anybody help me with a next step?

·
Registered
8,881 Posts
Get DTC read with TECH2.
Post DTCs here.

·
Registered
92 Posts
My Saab cranks, but won't start. I have already replaced the spark plugs, the battery, mass airflow sensor, clean air filter, crank shaft position sensor, fuel pump. The read out says: "open loop due to insufficient temperature" and "secondary air status from outside temperature or off" Can anybody help me with a next step?
I'm new to Saab's, but not to cars. You have two error messages mentioning "temperature", yet I did not read anything about checking/replacing any "temperature" sensor? What about this little guy? (link below)
It's a temp sensor for your intercooler, I believe. Just left of your battery, right under your nose. Can't miss it.

I went and looked at mine just now (208k miles) and HOLY SMOKES! The two wires at the back of the connector had two breaks each in their insulation, and the (vinyl?) conduit those two leads ran through was just baked solid from engine heat. This was one extra hot and bumpy drive from short-circuiting. I will be removing and repairing this tomorrow. Glad I saw your post, and I hope this helps you as well. Good luck.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4